Naples Pathways Coalition

COLLIER COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Donna Fiala,donnafiala@colliergov.net

William McDaniel, billmcdaniel@colliergov.net

Burt Saunders, burtsaunders@collliergov.net

Andy Solis,  andysolis@colliergov.net

Penny Taylor,pennytaylor@colliergov.net


Help make distracted driving a primary offense in florida

COLLLIER COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION

Honorable Kathleen Passidomo,kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov
Honorable Garrett Richter,richter.garrrett.web@flsenate.gov
Honorable Matt Hudson, matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
Honorable Carlos Trujillo, carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov
Honorable Dwight Bullard,bullard.dwight.web@flsenate.gov

NAPLES CITY COUNCIL

Mayor Bill Barnett,  bbarnett@naplesgov.com

Vice-Mayor, Linda Penniman,
lpenniman@naplesgov.com

Reg Buxton, rbuxton@naplesgov.com

Doug Finlay,dfinlay@naplesgov.com

Michelle McLeod,mmcleod@anplesgov.com
Sam Saad,ssaad@naplesgov.com​

Ellen Seigel,eseigel@naplesgov.com 

Contact information for elected officials is below.

REPORT ROAD DEBRIS


Leave specific details: type of debris, in which lane, location using an address or landmark, nearest cross street or main road.




Florida is one of only five states in the U.S. where texting while driving is merely a secondary offense. That means that law enforcement can issue a citation only if the driver has been stopped for a primary traffic offense like speeding. 


There are three pending bills in the Florida Legislature that will address this problem: House Bill HB 47 and its corresponding bill CS/SB 144 in the Senate, and Senate Bill SB 1742. Unfortunately, none of these bills is going anywhere this session!


​HERE ARE 2 THINGS YOU CAN DO

1) Join the NPC Distracted Driving (Virtual) Committee and commit to pressing legislators to pass a Distracted Driving bill next session. The committee will convene virtually - no meetings - and share information, ideas, and strategy via email beginning May 8. ​

2)  Share these statistics from the National Safety Council with your friends and family and make them aware of the dangers of Distracted Driving.


  • Over 2.5 million people in the U.S. are involved in road incidents each year. Of these, 1.6 million have cell phones involved - that's 64%! 
  • Every year approximately 421,000 people are injured in crashes involving a driver who was distracted. 
  • 78% of all distracted drivers are distracted because they are texting. 
  • Each year over 330,000 crashes caused by texting while driving lead to severe injuries. 
  • Texting and driving is six times more likely to cause an accident than driving while drunk. 
  • It takes an average of three seconds after a driver's mind is taken off the road for an accident to occur. 
  • Reading a text message while driving distracts a driver for a minimum of five seconds each time. 
  • In five seconds, a car going 55 mph covers the length of a football field. Not good news when the driver is looking at the phone instead of the road. The time a driver spends with eyes off the road increases by approximately 400% if texting. 
  • Your chances of a crash for any reason increases by 23% when you text while driving.  
  • 77% of adult drivers say they can easily manage texting while driving. Really? 


If that's not bad enough, here are the stats about teenagers:

  • 55% of teenage drivers say that they can easily manage texting while driving, yet 11 die every day as a result.
  • 94% of teenagers say they understand the consequences of texting and driving.  Only a small percentage actually admits to doing it.
  • 21% of teen drivers involved in fatal crashes each year were using a cell phone at the time of the crash.
  • Teen drivers are four times more likely than adults to be in a car crash when texting while driving.
  • 82% of American teenagers own a cell phone and use it regularly to talk and text.
  • When teens text while driving they veer off the lane 10% of their total drive time.
  • 48% of younger teens have been in a car while the driver was texting. Over 1600 children in that age group are killed each year because of crashes involving texting.

KNOW YOUR REPRESENTATIVES
IN THE CITY, COUNTY, STATE



​​STATE REPRESENTATIVES

Click on a name to go to the email Contact for:
Senator Bill Nelson
Senator Marco Rubio

Representative Francis Rooney
Representative Mario Diaz-Balart



    ACT

    NPC acts on its convictions and encourages citizen advocacy.

    EDUCATE

    NPC educates motorists, cyclists, and pedestrians through programs and special events.

    ADVOCATE

    NPC advocates for the needs of cyclists, walkers, and runners in the greater Naples area.



    contact naples pathways coalition​​

    Beth Brainard

    Executive Director Naples Pathways Coalition

    bethbrainard@naplespathways.org

    • 300 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 101, Box 464, Naples, FL 34102
    • 239-777-7718
    • NPC Facebook


    advocacy in action

    action alert!

    Safe, bikeable, walkable communities